I’m offline for the next two weeks, then back with a job; and it’s entirely due to my online work

Right now, I’m offline working on a publication or two, and a glass of wine or three, in France. In mid-June, I will return – like Gandalf after his battle with the Balrog at the Bridge of Khazad-Dûm – as a member of Walk of Truth, a non-governmental organisation (NGO) in the Hague; it is dedicated to protecting cultural heritage, and supporting peace-building dialogue, in conflict zones and divided societies.

(To the disbelief of family and friends) I have a job! After nearly two years of unemployment, punctuated by precarious, sometimes illegal work, I have a worthwhile (and legal), full-time job. And it is entirely due to my online work. The NGO found me online; it saw my work online (and my ability to present it there); and after some server/system-based misfortune, which nearly reduced everyone’s efforts to naught, it saw my appeal for (successful) contact online.

9 Responses to “I’m offline for the next two weeks, then back with a job; and it’s entirely due to my online work”

  1. Glad to hear this, Sam. Tebrikler.

  2. Congratulations! (Though I feel obliged to point out that ‘Balrog’ isn’t a proper noun… except in the context of the Street Fighter games.)

    • The interwebs cannot communicate my shame. (I was going to point out that I “corrected” it from ‘the Balrog’, but I’m not sure that’s to my credit…) That would have been an awesome boss fight though.

  3. I told you that at this day and age online presence is a must 🙂
    Cheers, and more to come to your inbox.

  4. good luck in your new job.2 years job hunting for a guy with your ability just shows you how tough it is out there.
    kyri.

  5. Congratulations on your new job!

  6. Thank you (though what it actually shows is how few archaeologists use the web)!

    (Srsly, many archies need to just accept the existence of twentieth-century technology.)

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

