It’s a leg. It’s embarrassingly obviously a leg.

If proof (apart from cuts and bruises) were needed that my spatial skills are so poor that I can walk into doors, art historian David Knell has pointed out that the patch-and-hole in the Gaza “Apollo” (tray-bearer) is embarrassingly obviously on the outer left calf. Well that’s that sorted, then. Now there’s just everything else left.

5 Comments to “It’s a leg. It’s embarrassingly obviously a leg.”

  1. Haha! Sorry, I hope I didn’t come across as smug. It’s just that I get excited on those rare occasions when I actually manage to get something right! 🙂

  2. Epic! I was trying to picture the look on your face at that moment. That paragraph of yours that I quoted on my blog was pure legend – it just cracked me up! 😀

    I’ll try my own hand at analysing what we can see of the statue at some point if I get time. Then you can get your own back!

  3. Yes, David, you are absolutely right!

  4. “Riddle me this! It’s like the right leg but it’s not the right leg…”

    “Hmmm… No, I don’t know, I give up.”

Leave a Reply

