Harassment by proxy or not? I ‘can expect a knock on the door any time soon’.

I mentioned last week that cultural heritage campaigners were getting threatened and endangered by metal detectorists and others in the antiquities trade. The people who facilitate intimidation are demonstrably choosing to do so. Are some also wasting police time by reporting campaigners who have publicly discussed intimidation?

It is possible that, when a metal detectorist was contacted by the police though not questioned about stalking or harassment, ‘he brushed it aside by complaining to the interviewing officer about Heritage Action’.

Update

Heritage Action have added,

I have talked to West Mercia police about Mr Howland et al on previous occasions and they accepted my invitation to visit me at home to discuss it all. I think they understand precisely what they are dealing with so there’s not a snowball’s chance in hell that they will believe you or I have done anything wrong. So I think you have it exactly right – they contacted him and, confronted with his own written confession about what he wanted to do, and in the absence of a shred of a defence, he bleated that it wasn’t his fault, it was ours. Well you would, wouldn’t you if the police are on the phone and you can’t think what the devil to say!

I have still not been contacted by the police about my supposedly defamatory speech.

Original post

Now, according to detectorist John Howland, I should ‘expect a knock on the door any time soon‘.

I have publicly reached out to West Mercia Police to offer any possible assistance with their enquiries. Privately, I have also given comprehensive physical and electronic contact details to West Mercia and other police forces, including my whereabouts for the next month. If the police want or need to knock on my door, they can.

However, as far as I know, West Mercia Police have not received any complaint, and no police authorities have asked my local service to visit me or otherwise make any enquiry on their behalf. Has Howland made a complaint to an as-yet-unidentified police service or has he not contacted the police? If he has not contacted the police, whom should I expect to find outside my family’s home?

One Comment to “Harassment by proxy or not? I ‘can expect a knock on the door any time soon’.”

  1. I have talked to West Mercia police about Mr Howland et al on previous occasions and they accepted my invitation to visit me at home to discuss it all. I think they understand precisely what they are dealing with so there’s not a snowball’s chance in hell that they will believe you or I have done anything wrong. So I think you have it exactly right – they contacted him and, confronted with his own written confession about what he wanted to do, and in the absence of a shred of a defence, he bleated that it wasn’t his fault, it was ours. Well you would, wouldn’t you if the police are on the phone and you can’t think what the devil to say!

Leave a Reply

