Archive for August 9th, 2014

09/08/2014

Double, triple, quadruple-checking: is this evidence that the Shrine of Sayeda Zeinab has been destroyed?

Previously, I debunked fabricated evidence of the destruction of the Shrine of Sayeda Zeinab in Sinjar, but I immediately updated it with confirmation of that destruction that had been published while I had been debunking the propaganda. And the confirmation may be correct. But some of the evidence is still niggling away at the back of my mind.

read more »

09/08/2014

The plains of Ashur and Nineveh: communities and their ancient lands are at risk

It’s difficult to say anything when cooperating groups are issuing contradictory official statements, when vehemently denied claims can become real new actions within hours. (For example, I suspect that some of the false reports of international air strikes were attempts to guilt-trip or hurry the international community into action, by forcing them to deny that they were protecting civilian communities from genocide, and others were well-informed people jumping the gun.) The situation had changed between me starting and finishing this post, had changed yet again between me finishing and being able to publish it, and will have changed yet again between me posting it and you reading it.

Particularly in an environment of panic and propaganda, I’m very reluctant to post anything prospective (or even contemporary). Nonetheless, it may help to highlight a few possibilities concerning cultural property, with which we can compare developments, in order to work out what’s happening.

read more »